It Is Still Not Too Late to Bet on the World Cup Golden Glove Winner

The biggest football tournament has begun and the first few matches can orient those who want to bet on the World Cup Golden Glove winner before the bookies decrease the returns they are offering

Manuel Neuer Germany Goalkeeper
Will Neuer win the Golden Glove?

While strikers are usually the center of attention in football, bookies do not forget about goalkeepers, either. Online sportsbook sites in Russia have opened bets on the World Cup Golden Glove winner. Who do the official betting odds suggest could be the best shot-stopper in Russia?

The World Cup Golden Glove is a relatively young award; it was first given in 1994 (back then, it was known as the Yashin Award). Four of the six winners of the title were chosen from the team that won the World Cup. Thus, gamblers betting on the World Cup Golden Glove winner are advised to take a look at the bookies’ predictions because this title is often given to the favorite.

Alisson Becker (5.00)

Online betting sites in Russia favor Brazil’s goalie. Not only is his team seen as the most likely to win the tournament, Alisson also has impressive individual credentials. He kept five clean sheets in this season’s Champions League, helping his team all the way to the semi-finals. His performance reportedly caught the attention of the league’s most wealthy club, Real Madrid. He also has great chemistry with the national squad, as he kept nine clean sheets in Brazil’s World Cup qualification campaign.

Until last week, David De Gea, the winner of the Premier League Golden Glove, was a close second on the list of the bookies’ favorites. Since then, however, he made a howler that may cost him the World Cup Golden Glove: at the match against Portugal, he conceded a savable shot from Ronaldo. Who else, then, apart from Alisson, looks confident enough not to make such mistakes?

Hugo Lloris (6.00)

If there is a good example of the French goalkeeper’s alertness, it is the save he made against Australia when Corentin Tolisso almost scored an own goal in the confusion following Aaron Mooy’s free kick.

Like Oliver Kahn, the first goalkeeper to win the Golden Ball and one of the two Golden Glove recipients who were not selected from the team that won the World Cup, Lloris is the captain of his national team. That extra responsibility will surely be appreciated by the committee that awards the Golden Glove, the FIFA Technical Study Group.

Manuel Neuer (10.00)

Partly because he won the award at the last tournament, Neuer used to be the bookies’ favorite. However, after he suffered a foot injury that sidelined him for nine months, punters got somewhat discouraged.

While no longer the favorite, he is still a force to be reckoned with, which he proved in his return match. Based on the performance seen there, Germany’s coach, Joachim Löw, indicated that he will make Neuer his No. 1. While Germany have some work to do following their defeat to Mexico, that was loss was certainly not Neuer’s fault.

Guillermo Ochoa (18.00)

Speaking of Mexico’s upset, that wouldn’t have been possible without Ochoa. The goalkeeper was tested again and again as the Germans desperately tried to get an equalizer, but Ochoa made no mistakes. He made nine saves, the most any goalkeeper made in a single match in this World Cup so far.

He was also brilliant in the previous World Cup, where he made crucial saves and was named the man of the match two times. That experience coupled with his current form makes Ochoa the best value bet at the 2018 World Cup.

Where can you bet on the World Cup Golden Glove winner?

Unibet Sportsbook offers very favorable odds in this category. The bet is open until the last day of the World Cup, July 15. Still, to make the highest profit, you should not wait until then because the odds change dynamically as new matches are played. Make sure to visit the site before these goalkeepers make more saves and decrease the returns offered on them!

Discuss It Is Still Not Too Late to Bet on the World Cup Golden Glove Winner | User Rating