2019 PFA Player of The Year Predictions

  • Sterling was leading Manchester City's attack in the absence of Aguero and De Bruyne
  • Aguero is the greatest player in the club’s history
  • Van Dijk is one of the best centre-backs in the world
2019 PFA Players of the Year Predictions David Silva
David Silva, POTY candidate

We are approaching the end of 2018/19 Premier League season, with 8 Matchdays to go. This is the time when attention begins to turn to the annual PFA awards. There is enough evidence now for some 2019 PFA Player of the Year predictions. The award will most likely go to one of the five players below.

The five players are David Silva, Mo Salah, Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero, and Van Dijk. They are all exclusively from the top two rivals Manchester City and Liverpool. Online sportsbook sites in the UK favour Liverpool’s defender Van Dijk to win the coveted award. However, should City retain the title, Aguero or Sterling will win the trophy, according to our PFA Player of the Year predictions.

Bet on Van Dijk and the Netherlands to win the World Cup 2022:

Silva: Guardiola’s key midfield

Online sportsbook news in the UK suggest that the only surprise if David Silva is awarded would be that it has taken so long. He joined Manchester City in 2010, and since then he became one of the most influential players in the team. Due to his superb levels of consistency, Silva remains Pep Guardiola’s key midfielder.

David Silva is Manchester City’s all-time leading Premier League appearance maker. He won three Premier League titles with the City. Should he make it to four, the PFA Player of the Year might be of his share with 20/1 odds at Bet365 Sportsbook.

Mo Salah the current holder of the PFA

Mohammed Salah is the current holder of the award, following a record-breaking debut season. He has a great chance to become the third player ever to win the PFA two years in a row. Only Thierry Henry and Cristiano Ronaldo did it in the past.

Salah had a slow start this season. He also failed to frequently score as he did last season. Still, he is competing for the Golden Boot, with 17 goals on his name. He is only one goal behind the top scorer Sergio Aguero. After maintaining such high standards this season, we predict the PFA Player of the Year may be awarded to Salah with 20/1.

Sterling leading City attack

Raheem Sterling was one of the stars to win the league title for his team last season. This season, he even took the responsibility of leading Manchester City’s attacking force. Guardiola chose to rely on Sterling during the absence of Sergio Aguero and Kevin De Bruyne. The 24-year-old Englishman is very close to surpassing his figures from last season. He scored 15 goals as for now. His odds stand at 7/1 to win the PFA.

2019 PFA Player of the Year Predictions Sterling
PFA POTY Award, for this guy? Really?

Aguero is the greatest player in Man City’s history

In seven years of playing for Manchester City, Sergio Aguero has become the greatest footballer in the club’s history. Remarkably, for all of his extraordinary performances, Aguero has never been named the PFA Player of the Year. However, if he guides City to overtake Liverpool, then he will certainly have a chance to win it with 11/2 odds.

Van Dijk, one of the best CBs in the world

Virgil van Dijk, the most expensive defender in history, has proven to be worth every penny. Since his arrival, Liverpool had a massive transformation in defense. The Reds conceded just 18 goals in 32 matches under his watch.

There can be little doubt that Van Dijk has established himself as one of the best CBs in world football. He certainly deserves to be the favourite with 8/15 odds at Bet365 Sportsbook. If Van Dijk wins the PFA, he will become the first defender to win it since John Terry in 2005.

If you are looking for best bookmakers, look no further and check our review about Bet365 Sportsbook.

Discuss 2019 PFA Player of The Year Predictions | User Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments