Patrick Clarke Wins EUR 200,000 Prize at the 2014 Irish Poker Open

Irish poker rooms - GamingZion

This year’s edition of the Irish Poker Open, the oldest major poker tournament in Europe, was won by Patrick Clarke.

Traditionally held over Easter weekend every year, the Paddy Power Poker Irish Poker Open came to an exciting end just a few days ago. At the end of the tournament, Patrick Clarke took the title and the top prize, which is worth EUR 200,000.

A total of 411 players made it to the Main Event, which took place in an Irish poker room in Dublin. The finale, held in a makeshift boxing ring, was very intense but Clarke managed to weave his way through the field quite smoothly.

At the start of the heads-up, Clarke held the lead after Liam Chevalier was eliminated from third place. Within just a few hands, he managed to deliver a knockout blow and beat his rival, Dave Pollock.

Surprising twist

The live event was widely covered by European gambling news, and was full of exciting moments and surprising twists, including a deep run by Jesse May, known as the “Voice of Poker”.

With just one session remaining, the poker pro was among the chip leaders, but the colorful character ended up falling into 17th place. Jesse May didn’t make it to the final table, but he managed to leave with EUR 7,599 in cash.

Final results of the Paddy Power Poker Irish Poker Open:

1. Patrick Clarke- $276,380

2. Dave Pollock – $180,338

3. Liam Chevalier – $134,735

4. Thomas O’Shea – $101,984

5. Oliver Lynch – $75,314

6. Michael Gilligan – $53,203

7. Barry Donovan – $36,620

8. Jonathan Lundy – $26,256

9. Antoine Smits – $18,448

Discuss Patrick Clarke Wins EUR 200,000 Prize at the 2014 Irish Poker Open | User Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments