The Best Attacking Partnerships in the History of the Copa América

Diego Forlan Luis Suarez Uruguay Copa America 2011

Our target is to introduce the best attacking partnerships in the history of the Copa América.

Copa América, the South American continental football tournament, has always been known for its attractive style of football.

• Ronaldo and Rivaldo shined in 1999
• Argentina had great players in 2004 yet they lost the final
• Suarez and Forlán helped Uruguay win in 2011

Supporters and fans of this sport has always paid a lot of attention to the oldest continental tournament because it always brings thrilling encounters.

We can find emotinal rivalries between the teams, passionate encounters and unbelievable comebacks. Mostly these things are thanks to the world class attackers of the South American teams, such as Brazil or Argentina. We will introduce some of the best attacking partnerships.

Ronaldo – Rivaldo – Amoroso triumphed with Brazil

Brazil has started the Copa América in Group B and won all their 3 matches against Venezuela, Mexico and Chile respectively by 7-0, 2-1 and 1-0. They knocked out arch-rival Argentina in the quarter-finals by winning 2-1 and also eliminated Mexico by 2-0 in the semi-finals. They played the final against Uruguay and the Brazilian side’s incredible attacking trio trashed them by 3-0.

online gambling sites in Brazil reported that the top class attacking players took key part in Brazil’s amazing march towards victory. Ronaldo, Rivaldo and Amoroso all played in incredible form throughout the entire competition, scoring many beautiful and incredibly important goals in order to win the title for their national team.

Ronaldo and Rivaldo finished the tournament as co-top scorers with 5 goals, while Amoroso was following them with 4 goals. The Phenomenon scored 3 goals in the group stage, and went on to score a decisive goal against Argentina in the quarter finals, and Brazil’s last goal in the tournament, – the third one in the final. Rivaldo scored only one goal in the group stage, but he equalized against Argentina before scoring against Mexico in the semi-finals and deciding the final with his double.

Argentina had great strikers in 2004

Even though the fact that Brazil triumphed in the Copa América in 2004, Argentina’s strikers performed well as well. Kily González, Javier Saviola, Luciano Figueroa, Lucho González and Carlos Tevez formed part of the Argentinian attacking third and they scored most goals of the team. The Albiceleste qualified from the group stage by defeating Uruguay and Ecuador, however they lost against Mexico.


Kily Gonzalez was an awesome striker, but somehow it just didn’t work out for them

Argentinian gambling news report that while Kily González were co-top scorer within their national team with Javier Saviola by scoring 3 goals, the other above-mentioned strikers also scored 2-2 goals each. With that, Argentina had the most productive team play regarding the attacking third. They brought Argentina to the final by defeating Peru and Colombia in the quarter and semi-finals respectively.

However, it was not enough to win the title in the year when Adriano played his best games of his entire career. The Brazilian scored 7 goals with which he became top scorer of the tournament, in addition he scored important goals. Eventually, Brazil won the tournament by defeating the Albiceleste in a thrilling encounter which ended in penalty shoot-out.

Luis Suárez and Diego Forlán were impressive in 2011

The Copa América was held in Argentina in 2011, however, that year’s competition was not famous of the hosting nation’s great performances. Quite the contrary, they got knocked out of the tournament by Uruguay in the quarter finals. The Charrúas were expected to achieve great things after eliminating their biggest rival in the history of Copa América. And great things were achieved by the team, but let’s start from the beginning.

mobile betting sites recall how Uruguay was drawn in Group C together with Chile, Peru and Mexico. Uruguay qualified for the quarter-finals without a sinlge defeat as they tied by 1-1 against both Peru and Chile, before defeating Mexico by 1-0. Then in the round of the best eight, they faced arch-rival Argentina and went on to the next phase on penalties after a 1-1 result of 120 minutes.

Later on, Uruguay defeated Peru by 2-0 in the semi-finals and the trashed Paraguay easily by 3-0 in the final, which resulted in Uruguay’s 15th Copa América title. Luiz Suarez was named as best player of the tournament thanks to his amazing performances which has helped Uruguay win the trophy. He scored 4 goals throughout the competition, while his striker partner Forlán helped him build up many clear cut chances in addition to the fact that he himself scored 2 goals – both in the final.

Discuss The Best Attacking Partnerships in the History of the Copa América | User Rating