2023 Cricket World Cup Betting Preview


Posted: June 3, 2020

Updated: June 3, 2020

  • The Cricket World Cup is the world’s third largest sports event
  • The Cricket World Cup 2023 will feature 10 teams
  • Betting in the Cricket World Cup is quite different from betting in domestic and international leagues

The 2023 ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be the 12th edition of the One Day International cricket competition. The tournament is held every four years and is arguably the most thrilling event in the international cricket calendar. The Cricket World Cup is the world’s third-largest and one of the most viewed sporting events after the FIFA World Cup and the Summer Olympic Games. Being the most popular sporting event, 2023 Cricket World Cup Betting preview is up on the online sportsbook sites in U.K. 

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

The Cricket World Cup 2023 will feature 10 teams. It is a decrease from the previous World Cups of 2011 and 2015 that featured 14 teams. The decision to reduce the number of participants brought a huge uproar among some of the associate cricketing nations. But the ICC went ahead and indicated that the T20 World Cup will be open to those associates. The first match will take place on 9th February until the 26th of March 2023. And the tournament will be hosted in India, according to Bet365 Sportsbook.

World Cup History

First hosted in England in 1975, the Cricket World Cup came just four years after the first One-Day International (ODI) match was played. The International Cricket Council organised it due to the popularity of one-day cricket at the time. That tournament was played over 60 overs. It was played during the daytime with the players wearing traditional whites and using red cricket balls. The 1979 World Cup saw the introduction of the ICC Trophy competition to select non-Test playing teams to compete in the tournament. Sri Lanka and Canada were the first benefactors of this provision, making it an eight-team competition.
Cricket World Cup Betting Preview
2023 World Cup!
The next edition in 1983 was also played in England. India were winners in 1983, sparking a cricket revolution in the subcontinent that has gradually propelled them to the epicentre of cricket in the modern era. The 1987 World Cup in India and Pakistan was the first World Cup hosted outside England. It also marked the reduction of overs from 60 to 50 which has now become the norm.
The West Indies won the first two World Cup tournaments but Australia can be seen the dominant force in recent years.

ICC Cricket World Cup Winners and Runners-up

Year Winners Runners-up Host(s)
2023 ? ? India
2019 England New Zealand England / Wales
2015 Australia New Zealand Australia / New Zealand
2011 India Sri Lanka India / Sri Lanka / Bangladesh
2007 Australia Sri Lanka West Indies
2003 Australia India South Africa / Zimbabwe / Kenya
1999 Australia Pakistan England / Scotland / Wales / Ireland / Netherlands
1996 Sri Lanka Australia Pakistan / India / Sri Lanka
1992 Pakistan England Australia / New Zealand
1987 Australia England India / Pakistan
1983 India West Indies England
1979 West Indies England England
1975 West Indies Australia England

World Cup Betting Preview

Betting in the Cricket World Cup is different from betting in domestic and international leagues. Compared to other events, a lot of things change when evaluating betting odds in the Cricket World Cup. One important factor to consider is naturally the home advantage for hosts. If we look at the results from the ICC World Cup 2019, where England and Wales were host countries, the English team managed to take full benefit of their home soil to beat New Zealand in the final match.

Now when it is time for the next World Cup in 2023, India will be the host. This will most likely mean that by the time you read Cricket World Cup predictions on online sportsbooks sites in, India will outrightly be the winning team according to the cricket world cup betting preview. According to Bet365 Sportsbook, India has the best odds on the table with 3.40, whereas England is second with 4.00 and Australia on third with odds of 5.00. Who do you think is likely to win?

You can discover more about Bet365 Sportsbook here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments