The Results of the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions Poker Festival

online poker sites in Australia - GamingZion

2014 APPT Aussie Millions is over, after some great action in the most rewarding tournaments, new winners emerged.

The highly prestigious poker festival, the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions has concluded in Melbourne in total compliance with the Australian gambling laws. Both Main Event and the highly coveted Super High Roller tournament produced great action and new winners.

2014 APPT Aussie Millions Main Event

2014 APPT Aussie Millions results

Ami Barer won the Main Event in the Australian poker room
Yevgeniy Timoshenko took the Super High Roller honors
Mike McDonald came 2nd in the Super High Roller, securing 3rd final table finish this year

It was Canadian Ami Barer, who took the honors in the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions Main Event. The poker tournament was a $10,600 buy-in no-limit hold-em tournament with 668 entrants including some qualifiers securing their seats through online poker rooms in Australia.

The 22-year-old poker professional took his first major title Down Under and a whopping $1,432,800 first-place prize that went with it. The win gave him 2,100 Player of the Year points, placing him in the third place in the overall Card Player POY race standings.

The final table proved to be a tough competition, where Barer was up against Scott Seiver, Jacob Balsiger, Darren Rabinowitz, Sorel Mizzi, and others. The battle went on until the heads up between Barer and Mizzi, who won the third place here in 2010. However, Barer already had twice as much chips when the heads-up commenced, and it didn’t take him long to secure the overall victory.

Mizzi went all-in in the final hand holding Q8, but Barer had pocket aces, and, naturally called. The board came out K223A, providing Barer with a full-house and the 2014 Aussie Millions Main Event champion title. Check out the final table results with payouts:

1 Ami Barer $1,432,800
2 Sorel Mizzi $895,500
3 Jacob Balsiger $582,075
4 Darren Rabinowitz $402,975
5 Vincent Rubianes $299,993
6 Andrew Phaedonos $223,875
7 Scott Seiver $152,235
8 Eoghan O’Dea $116,415

2014 APPT Aussie Millions Super High Roller

Among the multitude of events during the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions, the Super High Roller tournament held a special place. This year the tourney had a record number of participants: 76, compared to just 22 last year. The $100,000 buy-in no-limit hold’em event grabbed a lot of attention from the media and fellow poker players around the world.

This time it was Yevgeniy Timoshenko, securing the win in one of the best Australian poker rooms. The Ukrainian-American pro took home $1,791,000 bringing his total live tournament winnings to $6.8 million. The win also secured him 840 POY points and he’s currently placed 21st in the overall race table.

Naturally, Timoshenko was not the only renowned face at the tables with $100,000 buy-in. The star-packed event had the following prominent figures at the final table: Daniel Negreanu, Patrik Antonius, Erik Siedel, Mike McDonald, Doug Polk, and more.

The final table came down to the heads-up between Timoshenko and McDonald, the recent runner-up at the 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event. The play started almost on equal terms, but Timoshenko manage to pull away rather quickly grabbing a 4/1 chip advantage before the final hand.

The hand started with Timoshenko’s mini-raise to 240,000 from the button, and McDonald followed with a re-raise to 600,000. To this Yevgeniy moved all-in, and Mike didn’t hesitate to call. McDonals held 107, but Timoshenko led the pre-flop with KQ. The board appeared 65283, giving Timoshenko a King-high board win and the title with a whopping prize pool that went with it.

Mike McDonald can’t complain with the $1,343,250 for the second place and 700 POY points to secure the second spot in the overall standings in the race. McDonald has already came second in this year’s 2014 PokerStars Caribbean Adventure Main Event, and eighth in $100,000 Super High Roller event there. Check out the final table winners and prizes at the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions Super High Roller event:

1 Yevgeniy Timoshenko $1,791,000
2 Mike McDonald $1,343,250
3 Erik Seidel $963,558
4 Doug Polk $770,130
5 Patrik Antonius $626,850
6 Daniel Negreanu $492,525
7 David Steicke $402,975
8 Martin Jacobson $313,425

2014 APPT Aussie Millions was held in the framework of PokerStars Asian Pacific Poker Tour for the first time this year. The tournament has generated a lot of buzz and interest in the region and worldwide. It remains one of the most attractive poker events in the beginning of the season.

Discuss The Results of the 2014 APPT Aussie Millions Poker Festival | User Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments