Bledisloe Cup 2020 Predictions: Australia vs New Zealand Test Series


Posted: October 14, 2020

Updated: October 14, 2020

  • Bledisloe Cup heavyweights New Zealand expected to extend their dominance with the 2020 title
  • Australia look to new head coach Dave Rennie to end the Wallabies Bledisloe Cup shame

Once again, world rugby giants Australia and New Zealand will square off for Trans-Tasman bragging rights at the Bledisloe Cup. Currently, our Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions foresee another victory for defending champions New Zealand. However, with the appointment of a new head coach, will Australia manage to break their Bledisloe Cup curse?

This year, the Bledisloe Cup series consists of four matches which will run from 11 October to 11 November. According to our Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions, defending champions New Zealand are frontrunners for the 2020 title. Let’s see how their winning chances stand against Australia on 888sport

  • New Zealand 1.14
  • Australia 5.50 

Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions and preview: History of the Trans-Tasman rivalry

Founded in 1931, the Bledisloe Cup is a rugby union competition between New Zealand’s All Blacks and Australia’s Wallabies. Additionally, the Bledisloe Cup is considered to be among the greatest sporting rivalries in World Rugby. However, it’s no surprise that the Trans-Tasman competition has gained this reputation. 

Both national teams are world rugby heavyweights. As a result, the competition continues to draw attention globally. Fortunately, bettors can take a chance on the outcome of this year’s legendary rugby competition on 888sport. The rugby union competition is usually held over a three-match series. 

However, there has previously been exceptions of two-match series, and now a four-match series. According to the online sportsbooks news in New Zealand, the All Blacks are the most successful Bledisloe side. The New Zealand All Blacks have claimed 48 titles. 

Consequently, our Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions have labelled New Zealand rugby as the 2020 title frontrunners. On the other hand, Australia’s Wallabies have claimed the Trans-Tasman rivalry bragging rights 12 times. 

Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions
Let’s play!

Defending champions New Zealand look to further solidify Bledisloe Cup dominance 

Currently, New Zealand’s All Blacks stand the best chance of claiming this year’s Bledisloe Cup bragging rights. Fortunately, the defending champions have good odds on the online sportsbooks in New Zealand to back up their winning chances. 

Currently, New Zealand rugby boasts an impressive 48 Bledisloe Cup victories and have been unstoppable since 2003 with consecutive victories. Now with odds at 1.14, our Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions foresee a continuation of New Zealand’s dominance in the competition. 

Consequently, the New Zealand All Blacks will be a safe bet on 888sport. Fortunately, they named a strong squad ahead of their title defending campaign. This includes Ardie Savea, Sam Cane and Aaron Smith. The trio was among the top performers in the opening 2020 Bledisloe Cup draw against rivals Australia.

Australia’s Wallabies look to avoid another Bledisloe Cup heartbreak 

According to our Bledisloe Cup 2020 predictions, Australia stands the worst chance of winning the four-match series. For over a decade, the Wallabies have continuously suffered defeat in the Trans-Tasman competition. Additionally, after having suffered consecutive defeats from 2003, Australia will be looking to avoid any further embarrassment. 

Unfortunately, with low odds of winning on 888sport at 5.50, they’ll likely walk away empty-handed again. However, the appointment of new head coach Dave Rennie might just be their antidote for reversing their Bledisloe Cup curse. 

So far, the coach has been praised for the club’s draw against New Zealand in the opening match Bledisloe Cup. Fortunately, with three games left in the series, they still stand a chance to overturn their bad luck in the competition. 

However, they will first have to make the difficult trip to New Zealand Eden Park, where they last won in 1986. 

Be sure to read our review about 888sport, the bookmaker featured on our Bledisloe Cup predictions and betting preview. 

You can discover more about 888sport here.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments