Betting Tips on Rugby League World Cup 2021

  • Now held every four years, the 2021 World Cup will take place in England from October to November
  • Having won 11 times previously, the Aussies are strong favourites yet again
  • Currently ranked No.1 in the world, New Zealand look most likely to stop them
Betting Tips on Rugby League World cup

The 2021 Rugby League World Cup will take place in England between October 23 and November 27, 2021. The 16th Rugby League World Cup will feature 16 nations, competing in 17 stadia across England. With Jamaica and Greece making their tournament debuts, new rivalries will form and old ones will be reignited. The opening match will see hosts England play Samoa at St James’ Park in Newcastle on Saturday 23 October. Read betting tips on Rugby League World Cup 2021 to see how you can win on next year’s World Cup.

Fifteen previous tournaments have taken place at intervals of two to eight years, featuring a range of different formats. Only three nations have lifted the Rugby League World Cup, with Australia winning a record 11 times. Great Britain has won three, although not since 1972, and New Zealand has taken one title, beating the Kangaroos in a shock 34-20 victory in 2008. This year, the BBC, who have broadcast rights in the United Kingdom, has confirmed that it will show every minute of every one of the 61 matches live on their platforms.

Tournament format has seen many changes

The first Rugby League World Cup took place in France in 1954. Then President of the French Rugby League, Paul Barrière, convinced the International Board to support the idea of a World Cup competition. 1975 saw a radical change, with matches being played on a home and away basis around the world, instead of a sinlge host nation, and spread out over the entire 1975 season. Great Britain was also split into England and Wales, but was allowed to compete as a single entity again at the next tournament in Austrailia in 1977.

Betting Tips on Rugby League World cup
Some brutal matches are incoming.

The next two World Cups underwent more changes. Firstly, the tournaments were stretched out over a three-year window, from 1985 – 1988 and 1989 – 1992 respectively. In 1995, the RLIF agreed to go back to single year tournaments, with Fiji, Tonga, Samoa and South Africa added to the list of nations. In 2000 the Rugby League World Cup expanded to 16 teams, including a New Zealand Maori representative team for the first and only time. The Rugby League International Federation also decided that the tournament would be held every four years from then on. If you want to bet next year’s tournament, check out betting tips on Rugby League World Cup at Online sportsbooks in the UK.

Betting tips on Rugby League World Cup show familiar faces as favourites once again

2021 Rugby League World Cup groups:

England Australia New Zealand Tonga
Samoa Fiji Lebanon Papua New Guinea
France Scotland Jamaica Wales
Greece Italy Ireland Cook Islands

If anyone can stop them, it’s most likely New Zealand 7.00, who are next best in the outright odds. The Kiwis are actually ranked No.1 in the world right now ahead of the Aussies, despite losing their most recent encounter with the Kangeroos. They will dominate Group C, and expect to be in the final next year, not least to make up for the massive disappointment of losing to Fiji in the last eight in 2017.

Betting tips on Rugby League World Cup 2021 show host nation England 8.50 third in the outright betting odds. They went all the way to the final in 2017, putting in a credit-worthy performance only to lose 6-0 in Brisbane as the Kangaroos did just enough. The fact that the tournament is being played in the northern hemisphere and hosted by England improves their chances of stopping the Australians. It’s going to be a difficult task for Shaun Wane to lead his side all the way to World Cup glory, but with longer odds, both England and New Zealand could be worth a wager.

Betting Tips on Rugby League World cup
Let’s play!

Betting on the Rugby League World Cup 2021

Online bookmakers such as Bet365 Sportsbook offer some of the best markets for the Rugby League World Cup, so here are some to consider before placing your bet…

HEAD-TO-HEAD. The easiest way to have a punt on most sports matches. Simply select who you think will win the game and if they emerge victorious so do you.

FIRST TRYSCORER. Choose which player on either team you believe will score the first try of the game. You can also bet on the last tryscorer in most games.

HALF-TIME/FULL-TIME DOUBLE. Bet on who you think will be leading the game at both halftime and fulltime. There are of course many possibilities, including no-score or score draws.

HANDICAP BETTING. If the bookmaker believes Team A is a 10-point better team than Team B, they will handicap Team A by 10 points. The bet therefore becomes Team A to win by more than 10 points, or Team B to lose by less than 10 points. Both outcomes have equal odds.

WINNING MARGINS: Select the correct winner as well as the correct score margin at full-time. For example, you may bet on Australia to beat New Zealand by a margin of 1-12 points.

SportEmpire Sportsbook top seven rated teams in the tournament:

Australia 1.28
New Zealand 7.00
England 8.50
Tonga 13.00
Fiji 34.00
Samoa 51.00
Papua New Guinea 81.00

Some online sportsbooks are better than others. So before placing a bet, check out our sportsbook reviews or simply pick an online sportsbook from our best sites. You can also read more here about gambling laws governing the Australian NRL National Rugby League Gambling Legislation. And check out online gambling sites in the UK to see what other wagers you can find on the Rugby League

You can discover more about Bet365 Sportsbook here.

Discuss Betting Tips on Rugby League World Cup 2021 | User Rating

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments